New Year’s Resolutions 2: Read More

Inspired by the blog post by World Book Night: 2012 Reading Resolutions, my second new year’s resolutions is to read more and read more smartly. 

Dried fruit

Read more
Time seems to disappear or to be allocated elsewhere these days, but I  miss reading a good book.  So in 2012, I want to commit time to reading more or at least listening to e-audio books (courtesy of the our public library).

Read differently
I want to challenge myself  to read different things, to read outside of my comfort zone.  Sometimes I get stuck in a genre rut and then just stay there.  This year is going to be a year of new experiences. (Though I am not sure my previous or my current  eAudio books lives up to this criteria: The Road by Cormac McCathy and The Courtesan and the Samurai by Lesley Downer. Both of which fall into genres I seem to be drawn to: apocalyptic survival and historical fiction).

Ditch a book if I am not enjoying it.
I have stolen this one directly from World Book Night’s 2012 Reading Resolutions.  Time is precious and I don’t have to waste on books which I am not enjoying or don’t find pleasurable. So I promise to ditch any book (which I am reading for pleasure) which fails to be enjoyable (there are plenty of things I have to read for my job which I don’t always find enjoyable or pleasurable).

Don’t feel guilty about not reading every single word
There I have admit it.  I don’t read every single word printed, and yes I do sometimes feel guilty for doing it. But what is the point? I still enjoy the books.  (Inspired by The Guardian article: Are you ashamed of skipping parts of books? A quick skim through the reasons why it’s not always a good idea to read every page).

2 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions 2: Read More

  1. I have huge amounts of guilt if I ditch a book and I’m already at around 50 pages. I just can’t do it and so I’ll sit on that book for weeks and weeks. Horrible. Good goal!

  2. What a great resolution, Chrissy! I hope you keep us informed on any recommendable books you’ll find!
    I have no qualms about ditching a book if I don’t like it – if I don’t like it from the beginning I begin to skim and if it doesn’t get interesting, I’d ditch it. So much to read out there 😉

Leave a Reply

