December 5 – Let Go

What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

Today’s Reverb10 is  a difficult prompt, it is challenging and very personal.

Letting go is and can be extremely hard and painful, especially when it somebody you love. 
There are times in your life when you don’t have a choice and you have to learn to open your hands to let go.    Other times you are forced into making that choice because of the situation and circumstance.  But holding on can be even more painful than letting go.

I am in the painful process of letting go of a friendship. Before you think I am awash with friends, that I can afford to let go of a friendship, then you couldn’t be more wrong.  I have a few real friends, people who I love and I share my life with.  Friends are very precious to me and I really treasure their friendship, so even considering letting go one of those friendship go is tragedy.

We had been great friends for years, encouraging and growing together, supporting each other through thick and thin.  But then we started to drift apart a couple of years ago, following different paths and our friendship ties started to dissolve.  To start with, I ignored what was happening and continued to have, what felt like was, a one-side friendship.  Then I blamed her for changing and that she was not accepting of my life and my situation, but we had both changed.   I tried to rescue the friendship by trying to restore the ties, I bared my soul and opened up my heart and made myself vulnerable.  I apologised for my contribution to letting the friendship drift and asked for her forgiveness.  Nothing.

Now I think it is time to let go.  Seasons come and go and there is a time for everything,  a time to hold on and another to let go.

3 responses to “December 5 – Let Go

  1. I love your blog… It’s inspiring to know that there are others, even on other continents, that are going through changes and letting go of people they don’t want to let go of. Sorry for your loss of friendship, but maybe you’ll make more friends through your blog? Good luck!

    • Thank you Ann for stopping by and taking the time to leave such an encouraging comment! You are right about how amasing it to see that all over the world people are sharing similar experiences to the ones you are going through.

  2. I really love reading your posts, Chrissy! I can very much relate with what you write! Someone once said to me that some friends are only meant for a certain period of time – it was good to have them at that time and one can appreciate that, even if the friendship doesn’t last forever.

Leave a Reply

