Roses are red

With the August Break (AB) over, I have spent some time thinking about my blog.  Blogging is still all very new to me and I am still attempting to find my feet and my blogging voice. 

The AB project gave me more direction and focus during the last month and I have really enjoyed the challenge of trying to be creative and fresh with my photography.  It has also encouraged me to perhaps focus more on my own photography for now, with some inspiration from other sources too.

So where do I start.  As this is about my blog and finding my own voice, I thought I would go back to the start with some photos I took  in June this year which I used to create my blog’s banner and icons. Roses are simply my favourite flowers, especially red ones.

“a rose by any other name would smell as sweet”
Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet

Flowers and their colours have meaning and in Victorian times conveyed messages from the sender to the receiver.  Red roses symbolise love and passion often conveying the deep emotion of the sender, making them popular flower for Valentine’s Day.

 

Roses are red, violets are blue, sugar is sweet and so are you

 

2 responses to “Roses are red

  1. This is such a beautiful post, Chrissy! I like the photos and your explanation, as well as the quotes! And I love roses, as well!
    I’m looking forward to your next posts!
    Greetings, Rosie

  2. Thanks Rosie. Looking forward to keeping up with your blog too.

Leave a Reply

