Day Thirteen – Reflections

Fantastic, it’ Friday again and the prospect of a whole weekend ahead is just bliss. After dumping my bags at the bottom of the stairs, I grabbed my camera and went on the hunt for something curious or unusual to photograph (especially as it is wet and grey outside).

I have been thinking about reflections, what we see in the mirror isn’t always true or what others see. So I started initially to think about capturing reflections of the camera and tried to find a mirror I could use.  After failing miserably, I started randomly snapping things that are sat on my bookcase but not really coming up with anything satisfying . It was by accident that I stumbled upon this little aromatherapy candle in a reflective container.


Day Thirteen – Reflections 01, originally uploaded by Chrissy Lewis’ Flickr.

 This was my first attempt at trying to capture reflections.  I snapped this a couple of times and even though I got a couple of photographs in focus, I discarded them in favour of this one as I just love the blurriness and distortion of this photograph.

Day Thirteen – Reflections 02, originally uploaded by Chrissy Lewis’ Flickr.

Next, I wanted to capture the lovely lettering and words that where on the edge of the lid. 


Day Thirteen – Reflections 03, originally uploaded by Chrissy Lewis’ Flickr.


Day Thirteen – Reflections 04, originally uploaded by Chrissy Lewis’ Flickr.


Day Thirteen – Reflections 05, originally uploaded by Chrissy Lewis’ Flickr.

And finally, I was able to capture a reflection of the camera in the lid.  The two pictures have different points of focus, the lid and then the camera lense.


2 responses to “Day Thirteen – Reflections

  1. I really like the last one. It’s a lovely interplay of incongruities.

Leave a Reply

