Survived another year

Survived another year, roughing it under canvas in Somerset.  Even though I had a fabulous week, I do have to confess that I am delighted to be home with all my creature comforts.  It is amazing what we take for granted.  Camping for this annual festival is very basic, with none of the plush facilities you may normally expect at a fully functioning camp site.  So you really are roughing it.   I am not a natural camper, I think I am a bit too soft.  I just don’t do mud, grass and creepy crawlies.

When I was a kid, I always wanted a camp tent, I longed for one.  I was probably influenced by reading too many Famous Five or Secret Seven stories.  So one Christmas my desire was fulfilled in the form of brown and yellow four-man tent.  Summers were spent playing in the tent, and very occasionally camping out in the back garden for a night.  Though often we didn’t actually survive the night, and would creep back into the house to find a our warm beds.

My favourite Famous Five book actually does not involve camping. The book Five go down to the Sea, which was originally published in 1953, follows the adventures of Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog, as they arrive in a desolate  farm in Cornwall for a holiday and they stumble upon mystery and intrigue surrounding their hosts and rumours of smugglers.

Despite the roughing it, I was able to take some lovely photographs on our visit to Wells.  So I hope to be able to share some of them here soon.

Image from : Dublin Opinion

Leave a Reply

