Of the summer

Shells

For one of the hottest days of the summer, I can only really pick pictures that remind me of summer holidays, beaches and sandcastles, and that has to be pictures of shells.  In my bathroom, I have a bag of shells which I bought years ago in Cornwall; they sit in a glass dish lined with stones. 

Shells are a significant memory from my childhood holidays.  As a family we spent most of our summers on the beaches in a seaside resort in North Wales, where I would collect shells off the beach. 

 A film that sums up all of memories that shells bestow me is the adaption of Rosamunde Pilcher’s book The Shell Seekers (1989) with Angela Lansbury.

Leave a Reply

